State law allows Florida homeowners to claim up to a $50,000 Homestead Exemption (HEX) on their primary residence. The first $25,000 of this exemption applies to all taxing authorities. The second $25,000 excludes School Board taxes and applies to properties with assessed values greater than $50,000.
All property Tax Exemption Applications are due March 1st.
Here’s how to file:
GENERAL QUALIFICATIONS AND INFORMATION
To qualify for the Homestead Exemption, the applicant must at minimum meet the following criteria as of January 1:
- Be a U.S. citizen or legal resident
- Own the property (i.e., have legal or equitable title)
- Occupy the property as his/her permanent residence (to the exclusion of all others). Click here for a complete list of documents accepted as proof of Florida residency
- Only those qualified persons listed on the exemption application will receive the exemption benefits. If the property is held jointly by husband and wife, either party may apply in person for the homestead exemption
- If you purchase a home after January 1, you may inherit the previous owner's HEX, but only for the first year that you own the property. After the first year, you will need to apply for your own Homestead Exemption.
AUTOMATIC RENEWAL OF EXEMPTIONS
Once an application has been approved the exemption will automatically renew annually until the property is sold, is no longer the homeowner’s primary residence, or the exemption holder requests that it be removed.
Note: Some exemptions such as the Senior Citizens and Granny Flat benefits are not subject to automatic renewal.
Please note that Florida law (Ref. FS Sections196.131 and 196.161) prescribes that it is the duty of the owner of any property with an exemption to promptly notify the Property Appraiser if use of the property or the status or condition of the owner changes in ways that affect the legitimacy of the exemption. If any of these changes occurs and the owner fails to notify the Property Appraiser, the property owner can be back-assessed for ten (10) years of exempted taxes, plus 15% interest per annum and a penalty of 50% of the taxes exempted. Please file the Exemption Cancellation Form
to notify the Property Appraiser of these changes.