Home‎ > ‎south beach condos Blog‎ > ‎

Paying Your Real Estate Taxes in Miami-Dade County

posted Nov 6, 2010, 8:40 AM by Jayson Wingfield   [ updated Nov 6, 2010, 8:51 AM ]

Real Estate Taxes are collected on an annual basis by the Tax Collector's Office. The tax year runs from January through December.

Tax notices are mailed on or before November 1 of each year with the following discounts for

  • 4% if paid in November
  • 3% if paid in December
  • 2% if paid in January
  • 1% if paid in February
  • Gross tax if paid in March, no discount applies

Real Estate Taxes become delinquent on April 1 of the following year in which they were assessed. As of April 1, a three percent (3%) penalty is added to the gross tax amount due. Discounts do not apply to delinquent payments. Delinquent taxes must be paid by cashier's check or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 197.122, all property owners are held to know that taxes are due and payable annually. They are charged with the duty of ascertaining the amount of current and delinquent taxes due

If a taxpayer does not receive a tax notice in November, it is the taxpayer's responsibility to contact the tax collector's office to request a duplicate bill. 

You can:

Pay in Person

To pay your current taxes in person, visit the

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 West Flagler Street, Room 101
Miami, FL 33130

  • Cash payments are accepted only at this office location.
  • In cases where customers are paying $10,000 or more in cash or money orders, a social security card is required.
  • Discounts for payments made in person are based on the actual date payment is received.

Pay by Mail

To pay your current taxes by mail, send your payment to:

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W. Flagler St., Floor 12
Miami, FL 33130

Checks must be made payable to:

Miami-Dade County Tax Collector

Date, sign, and write your folio number on the check, money order or cashier's check.

  • For payments made by mail, discounts are based on the postmark of the envelope.  To avoid additional interest or loss of discount, the payment must be postmarked by the last day of the month.
  • All checks must be drawn on US funds and issued on a US bank.
  • Return only the lower portion of the bill, using the envelope provided with your tax notice.  If you do not have a billing statement, please include your folio number on the check.
  • Do not send cash by mail.
  • Your cancelled check will serve as your receipt.

Pursuant to Florida Statute 125.0105 the Tax Collector's Office is authorized to collect a minimum service fee of $25.00 or 5%, not to exceed $250.00, for all returned checks.

Comments